Happy New Year!

Green-Action-Plan-2010-1Happy 2013!  As I age it’s always hard for me to look at the year posted on the calendar and believe it could be possible.  Isn’t it still 1999 or at least 2005?  Has it been over a decade since Ohio State won the National Championship in football?  Where does time go?

For Christmas one of my daughters received a Karaoke machine from Santa.  When it’s my turn I’ve been choosing songs I still love.  They’re from artists such as Guns and Roses, Def Leppard, Poison, Bon Jovi, John Cougar Mellencamp, Garth Brooks and Bruce Springsteen.  It goes without saying that my daughters are appalled at my selections.  In my mind these artists are still cool.  Even when I don’t want to admit it, the calendar doesn’t lie.  Time doesn’t stop, and over time, things change.

Audit%20Action%20Plan%20image-resized-600I really like New Years.  It provides me with a few hours each year to stop and take stock of life.  I’ll reflect on 2012 and what went well and what didn’t.  I’ll sit down with Doreen (my wife) and set some goals and create some action plans for 2013.  I’m not really into bold New Year’s resolutions that I won’t keep, but I am into “game plans.”  What is it that I want to accomplish this year: with my family, professionally, and personally?  How will we attack that?  There have been years when I have followed this plan, and years when I haven’t.  But as the calendar changes again, I am convinced that taking this time out to reflect is necessary.  Life moves too fast in the 21st Century to not be intentional about what we’re doing with our time and our resources.

In Worthington our school calendar runs August – June.  Thus, January 1st is close to the mid-point of our year.  We set ambitious goals for the 2012-2013 school year and at our administrative meetings this January we will review our progress, double down our efforts in some areas, and possibly make adjustments to our plans in other areas.  Again, without this time for review and reflection, we may not get where we had planned.

The goal setting process is important.  It creates clarity regarding how our time should be spent, how our money should be spent, and where we should allocate our people.  When there is clarity there is likely to be greater action, and greater action leads to results.

Both personally, and as an organization, we’ll use the start of another year to spend some time in reflection.  I hope you’re able to do the same.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

