Kenny Chaffin

We have amazing school principals throughout Worthington Schools.  Really they are the best of the best and they’re willing to do just about anything to help kids learn and grow in all areas of their life.

An example of that commitment to students can be found with McCord Middle School Assistant Principal, Kenny Chaffin, who recently sang a song to the students of McCord.  (It takes major courage to sing a song to 7th and 8th grade students on the last week of school.  Frankly I think it takes major courage to sing a song anywhere, let alone in a middle school.)  If you haven’t already, click on Kenny’s picture above to see him sing this song…..

When I asked Kenny about singing the song this is what he said, “This is a video of me singing a song called ‘Don’t Laugh at Me’ to our students at McCord last week. I talked about treating others like they are hurting and tried to tie in the message of the song with our ‘One Leg at A Time’ anti-bullying campaign. This is just a different way to try and reach the kids on the topic of bullying. Hopefully it also provides additional evidence for what we do in Worthington Schools to educate kids and suppress bullying.  Something that we take very, very seriously!”

Kenny’s version of the song speaks for itself.  His courage and willingness to put himself out there allows students to harness some of their own courage.  It provides opportunity for students and adults to reflect, and it opens the lines of communication between the adults and the students.

As part of our quest to be a “both/and” school district our principals need to lead academic achievement, they need to communicate with families in regular and effective ways, and most importantly, they need to foster both physically and emotionally secure environments within their schools.   Mr. Chaffin is helping to do all three of these things at McCord.

“Don’t Laugh at Me” is the title of a song written by Allen Shamblin and Steve Seskin. It was recorded by country music artist Mark Wills and released in 1998.  Allen Shamblin was inspired to write the song after his daughter came home from school one day, telling him that she was being teased by other children at school because of her freckles.  The song is a ballad in which various characters, such as children who have been teased or a homeless man begging on a street corner, all of whom ask for acceptance from others.  Here’s the words to the song that Kenny sang so well:

“Don’t Laugh At Me”

I’m a little boy with glasses
The one they call the geek
A little girl who never smiles
‘Cause I’ve got braces on my teeth
And I know how it feels
To cry myself to sleep.

I’m that kid on every playground
Who’s always chosen last
A single teenage mother
Tryin’ to overcome my past
You don’t have to be my friend
Is it too much to ask?

[Chorus:]
Don’t laugh at me, don’t call me names
Don’t get your pleasure from my pain
In God’s eyes we’re all the same
Someday we’ll all have perfect wings
Don’t laugh at me.

I’m the cripple on the corner
You pass me on the street
I wouldn’t be out here beggin’
If I had enough to eat
And don’t think that I don’t notice
That our eyes never meet.

I lost my wife and little boy
Someone crossed that yellow line
The day we laid ’em in the ground
Is the day I lost my mind
Right now I’m down to holdin’
This little cardboard sign.

[Chorus:]
Don’t laugh at me, don’t call me names
Don’t get your pleasure from my pain
In God’s eyes we’re all the same
Someday we’ll all have perfect wings
Don’t laugh at me.

I’m fat, I’m thin, I’m short, I’m tall
I’m deaf, I’m blind, hey aren’t we all?

[Chorus:]
Don’t laugh at me, don’t call me names
Don’t get your pleasure from my pain
In God’s eyes we’re all the same
Someday we’ll all have perfect wings
Don’t laugh at me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kenny Chaffin

  1. Vicki says:

    Wow. Kenny is a rockstar!

  2. Sheila Davis says:

    WOW Great Job!

  3. Pam Spring says:

    This is just one of the attributes that make Kenny a great administrator. He cares deeply about the students and staff at McCord, and I’m glad I had the opportunity to work with him.

  4. Anne Cencula Breneman says:

    Amazing

  5. Joellen Webb says:

    What a wonderful song from Kenny. I use to work with Kenny in Marysville, he comes from a strong christian family. He is always doing things like this to touch the lives of so many people. You are such a shining star in so many ways, Kenny.

Leave a Reply

