Project Gratitude

teachers-231x300I have a friend on Facebook who is doing something called Project Gratitude.  On Monday she posted the following statement:

“Project Gratitude, Day 7: Today, I am grateful for my kids’ kind and caring teachers. Yesterday, ____ and ____’s Math teacher showed up at ____’s football game. She had taken her own time to come see her students play. Excellent teachers give of themselves so unselfishly. They often do their very important work without many thanks and with relatively little compensation. I’m grateful for these unsung heroes in our world who help support and care for our precious kids.”

I couldn’t agree more with my friend’s comments about excellent teachers.  We had a similar experience with one of my daughter’s teachers last weekend.  My daughter had a big life event on Saturday night and she asked one of her teachers to attend.  On an evening where the Buckeyes were playing on National TV this teacher took time away from her own family to come and support my daughter.  When this teacher was introduced to my mother-in-law (my daughter’s grandmother) my daughter said, “Grandma this is Mrs. ________. She’s my _________ teacher but really she’s just our good friend.  What an incredibly cool description of a GREAT teacher.  She’s really just our good friend!

On Facebook a poster replied to my friend and said, “I’m always amazed when teachers do that kind of thing.”  Frankly, I’m no longer amazed by our teachers.  They do these types of things all the time.  I’ve moved from amazed to just thankful.  Thankful that there are professionals in education who not only help our children meet the incredibly high standards for learning, but also build positive, and I believe literally life-altering, relationships with their students.

Maya Angelou’s words ring true.  “People will forget what you said.  People will forget what you did.  People will never forget how you made them feel.”  Last weekend my family, and the family of a friend, both experienced teachers who went out of their way to invest in their students and make them feel special and appreciated.

That’s what Worthington teachers do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

