A Veteran

FullSizeRender (5)When the Columbus Dispatch posted that I would have the opportunity to succeed Dr. Tucker as the next Superintendent of Worthington Schools many people from all over reached out with congratulations and well wishes.  I heard from friends, colleagues and community members.  The outpouring of support has been awesome and humbling.  The article also generated a contact to me that was not about me at all, but about my dad.

My connection to Worthington Schools as a student, teacher, coach, administrator and parent has been well documented.  What is less known is that my dad was also a teacher and a coach in Worthington.

My parents both graduated from Linden McKinley High School in the early 60’s.  My dad went on to Ohio State and graduated with a degree in education.  When he graduated, like many of his generation, he was sent to Vietnam with the U.S. Army.  Dad served as a military police officer in the Army.  Upon his discharge from the Army he stayed in law enforcement and spent his career as a Special Agent with the U.S. Secret Service.

Upon retiring from the Secret Service Dad decided he wanted to finally put his education degree to use.  He spent several years in the mid-90’s teaching government at Thomas Worthington High School with Mark Ellwood, Chuck Palmer and Bob Galasso .  He also coached football with me at McCord Middle School.

When the Dispatch article ran I was contacted by a former student of my dad’s.  This student is a teacher now in Olentangy Schools and she was hoping to get in contact with my dad to share the positive difference he had made in her life.  Of all the cool things I have experienced in the last few weeks this was at the top of the list.  As a son, I was proud of my dad.  As a Worthington educator I was proud of another Worthington educator for doing what Worthington educators have been doing for generations – making a positive difference in the lives of kids.

Today is Veteran’s Day in the United States.  I salute my favorite veteran of the armed forces (and veteran of the classroom) – my dad!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

