My 6th Grader’s View of PARCC Testing

PARCC imagesTomorrow the PARCC assessment window will open all across Ohio.  In Worthington we have been preparing for these Next Generation Assessments for some time.  (Check out this website for important information regarding the assessments.)  In preparation for these assessments I thought it would be interesting to see what a student thinks about the assessments. Since two of those students live in my house I decided to ask my sixth grade daughter to write down her thoughts on the tests.  Those were my only instructions.  Thus, here is one student’s view of sixth grade assessments (disclaimer, this is just one student’s view,  certainly there are many other perspectives.)

It was a regular day in Mrs. Snyder’s 6th grade math class. We were listening to her talk and make some announcements about a schedule change. Next she points out that we are having 11 days of PARCC testing. What? This is crazy. 11 days, seriously? What if I’m too slow of a typist? What if the questions are too hard? How will I study? These questions were going through my classmates’ and my minds. Everything about this seems horrible. Am I right? It is a big change for every child in the district that will be taking the PARCC assessments this Spring.

Even though I was worried when Mrs. Snyder started talking about the PARCC assessments, I still was happy! I mean, the idea of our community, our state, taking the big jump from the idea of a paper and pencil test to a computer test is a big thought! Another thing would be that I have taken a practice PARCC assessment and the new tools that are available on the computer will make it easier for me to approach the test. On the math test, we have multiple calculators, a protractor, etc.. On the English/Language Arts test, we are able to highlight and use a line reader.

Mrs. Snyder showed us the calendar. As a 6th grader, there will be 3 tests that I will have to take. It will be in many segments, each one will be for a day. We will prepare by trying out questions on the PARCC website and we will do practice tests in class. It will be a great way to prepare for a test. No matter how BIG of a test it is. My teachers will work hard to treat it like any other OAA and that is what it will be.  

When we go into that classroom we will have no choice but to take a test. In my mind, it doesn’t matter if it is the PARCC or the OAA. I guess what I’m trying to say here is that no matter what, we are going to take a test. When I log onto the computer it is just like sharpening a box of #2 pencils. When I sit down to take a test, I’m taking a test. I will be nervous either way. No matter who is looking at it, an adult or a 6th grader, it is a test. And it’s not like we have a choice if we want to test.”

Here is the assessment schedule that my daughter’s sixth grade class will follow:

 

Grade and Administration Dates Assessment

PBA-Performance Base Assessment

EOY-End of the Year Assessment

Grade 6
February 23 Literary Analysis PBA

8:30-10:00 a.m.

February 25 Research Task PBA

8:30 – 10:00 a.m.

February 27 Narrative Writing PBA

10:00-11:30 a.m.

March 3

Grade 6 and Math 7 continued

Social Studies PBA

8:30 – 10:00 a.m.

March 10 Math Unit 1 PBA

8:30-10:00 a.m.

March 12 Math Unit 2 PBA

8:30 a.m.-10:00 a.m.

May 4 ELA Unit 1 EOY

8:30-10:00 a.m.

May 5 ELA Unit 2 EOY

8:30-10:00 a.m.

May 6 Math Unit 1 EOY

8:30-10:00 a.m.

May 8 Math Unit 2 EOY

8:30-10:00 a.m.

May 12 Social Studies

10:00-11:30 a.m.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

